Connect with us
England for World Cup 2019


England for World Cup 2019 | Can The English Lads Create History?

England for World Cup 2019 | Can The English Lads Create History?

England for World Cup 2019: Those chests would swell in pride as their anthem “Long live the queen” would reverberate across the English channel come this June. England will go into the 2019 cricket world cup at the top of the ODI charts with an invincible record of not losing an ODI series since 2016 (except  the ICC Champions League) and the cherry on the top was the whitewash series win against Australia at home (5-0) and also when they humbled India with a (2-1) series win.

England with arguably their best ODI team in a long long time have a settled line up with prolific batsmen, versatile allrounders and a well-versed bowling attack which gives them massive stability and enables them to have the best shot in bringing home their maiden ODI World Cup. The word aggressive is not often allied with the English brand of cricket, but sheer domination of their batsmen has unveiled a new dimension within the team who have been scoring big and also successfully chasing huge targets.


A team propelled with the luxury of openers Jason Roy, equally good Alex Hales have a healthy competition between themselves and alongside dashing Jonny Bairstow this pair more often than not have been instrumental in giving England the mere perfect starts.  Followed by one of the best batsman in the world Joe Root, who averages a staggering 50.90 with a strike rate of 86.69 coming in at number 3 lays the foundation and sets up the game for the powerhouse combo of Eoin Morgan, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes who can all give the oppositions a run for their money on any given day.

The team overhauling the mighty score of 360 by West Indies in the recent ODI series at the Caribbean and then putting up a valiant 418 against the same in a span of few days accolades their valour and brings them into the reckoning big time at the world cup, happening in their own turf. The modern ODI game which starts the innings with two new ball’s at each end makes it a pure batsmen’s delight lest bouncy pitches and rank turners.


The game loud and clear calls for the teams who dig deep to bat and this has off-late seen a steep rise in allrounders getting a go. For the English, the sorting hat has persistently dwelled upon Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes and Moen Ali a trio making up their automatic choice in the playing 11 owing to their all-round ability and their staggering performances.

The silent campaign canvassing  Jofra Archer to the world cup might have gone silent amidst the stupendous rise of Chris Jordan who had come up with sensational bowling performance during the T20 series at the Caribbean, he has certainly made a case for himself even though his last feature in a ODI game was a long while ago. Mark Wood, Jake ball, Liam Plunkett, David Willey and Steve Finn with variations up in their repertoire makes up the fast bowling which might lack illustrious names but surely can get the job done.


In the world of ODI’s, being the batsman’s game, nearly all teams have roped in wrist spinners to clog the flow of runs and leggie Adil Rashid with his craft adds just the right spice to the team. At the outset, England have no major woes except to bring the glory home.

Most surprisingly the country which has given the most beautiful game of cricket to the world has never won an ODI world cup. The closest they got was in 1979, 1987 and 1992 when they ended up only being the second best. “LORD’S”  the mecca of cricket is all set to host the record sixth final and this time the queen’s men would be raring to go on the pitches they have grown up, in the pursuit of realising their nations long-awaited dream.


X-Factors: Joe Root regarded as the best batsman along with Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson would be the crucial element to England’s success. Hard hitting Ben Stokes who is equally lethal with both bat and ball in hand along with the belligerent in form Jos Buttler will be the men to look out for team England at the 2019 cricket World Cup.


England for World Cup 2019

Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Moen Ali, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood, David Willey, Chris Jordan/Liam Dawson/Steve Finn



FanFight is available on both Android & iOS. Download Fantasy Cricket App and watch your favourite cricketers win points for you.

iOS users can Download FanFight iOS App and start winning cash daily.




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Opinion

%d bloggers like this: