Connect with us

All News




Pompous, opulent, nifty champions! These adjectives define the Mumbai Indians to a remarkable exactness. The Rohit Sharma led side have lifted the coveted trophy aloft an unmatched 3 times. The Mumbai Indians have won the most number of matches in the IPL. The next best team that comes close to their tally of 92 wins is the Chennai Super Kings with 79 wins. That’s how consistent the Mumbai Indians have been and in the auctions this year, the 80 crore pocket was spent wisely. What will MI’s probable starting 11 and team combination be for the IPL 2018? They’ve won the IPL in 2013, 2015 and 2017. Can they win the IPL this year? Let’s take a look at their chances.


January 27th and 28th, 2018 were probably the two most crucial days for the IPL franchises. i) because the franchises had to revamp their teams & ii) the right choices had to be made since these selected players will remain with the teams for the next 3 years.

MI spent a total of Rs. 33 crores on retaining Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah. The right-to-match card was used to retain Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard. Rs. 8,80,00,000 for Krunal Pandya and Rs. 5,40,00,000 for Kieron Pollard respectively.


Mumbai Indians’ most impressive purchase was Ishan Kishan. The teenage sensation was acquired for Rs. 6.20 crores. Last year at Gujarat Lions, Kishan showed glimpses of what he’s capable of. After another season of domestic cricket, Kishan is now more confident and he’ll be one player the Indian think tank will have their eyes on.

Evin Lewis, who always seems to hit prime form against India was brought in by the Mumbai Indians for Rs. 3.80 crores. Lewis has been an integral part of the West Indian legion. Their qualification for the 2019 World Cup also will be a huge confidence booster for Lewis. His strike-rate in T20s is a colossal 146.06. Kishan and Lewis are certain to open the innings & the Mumbai Indians can envisage a flying start, almost every game. Who else will make it to MI’s probable starting 11?


Rohit Sharma is irrefutably one of the most destructive batsmen on the planet. The classy right-handed batsman can demolish the best bowling attacks with the utmost of ease. Sharma will be all charged up to settle some scores, after a mediocre 2017 season.

Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya and Surya Kumar Yadav complete a sturdy middle-order. Also, the flexibility they provide makes the Mumbai Indians strong contenders for the title. They’ve got game changers in abundance and that is the team’s USP.


Mumbai have got a surplus of bowling options. They’ve got Jasprit Bumrah, Pat Cummins and Mustafizur Rahman as their new bowl bowlers. All 3 can launch deliveries at 140+ kmph and can bowl yorkers consistently. Bumrah has made a mark for himself as one of the finest bowlers world cricket. Rahman had an outstanding 2016 IPL season where he led the Sunrisers to a tournament victory. Pat Cummins has been the pick of the Aussie bowlers since the Ashes and he’s willing to go all guns blazing.

The chaos these 3 bowlers can create is unfathomable. The only liability in MI’s bowling attack is the lack of an experienced spinner. Rahul Chahar is the lone specialist spinner in the line-up. The leg-spinner was impressive in the games he played last year for RPS and this time he’s got an entire season to prove his worth. Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya complete the 5th bowler options.


Jason Behrendorff has been ruled out of the IPL after picking an injury. Mitchell McClenaghan will now replace the injured Behrendorff McClenaghan was a part of the championship-winning squad last year.


Rohit Sharma(c), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Pat Cummins, JP Duminy, Mustafizur Rahman, Ben Cutting, Rahul Chahar, Pradeep Sangwan, Mitchell McClenaghan, Saurabh Tiwary, Tajinder Dhillon, Akila Dananjaya, Siddesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Sharad Lamba, Mayank Markhande, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Nidheesh Dinesan.


Rohit Sharma(c), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan(wk), Kieron Pollard, Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar.

Given the quality, Mumbai Indians possess in their line-up their chances of winning the title are still not inevitable. However, they’ve got enough match winners in their ranks to trouble the strongest units.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in All News

%d bloggers like this: